If you want Pro Max performance in a phone you can still use one-handed, the iPhone 18 Pro is Apple's answer, and the iPhone 18 Pro specs reflect that trade. It pairs the A20 Pro chip with a 6.3-inch ProMotion display, a variable aperture main camera, and up to 34 hours of video playback, starting at ₹164,900 in India.
What iPhone 18 Pro specs actually changed from the iPhone 17 Pro
The iPhone 18 Pro specs carry three firsts for the Pro line: a variable aperture main camera, the A20 Pro chip, and a 2TB storage option in a non-Max body. Everything else, including the 6.3-inch size and the 48MP triple camera layout, continues from the iPhone 17 Pro.
That continuity matters because Apple's launch event, covered by Apple Newsroom, framed the 2026 Pro as an iteration rather than a redesign. Buyers upgrading from the 17 Pro get a new chip, a new camera control, and a new top storage tier, not a new shape.
Third-party coverage of the same event reached similar conclusions about the modest external change, with The Verge describing the Pro line as keeping its 2025 silhouette. Nothing in the launch materials suggests a chassis redesign for 2026.
The practical question is whether those three changes affect daily use. Two of them do: the camera aperture changes what you can shoot in bright light, and the chip changes sustained performance in games and video export. The storage tier changes only the price you pay.
A20 Pro chip: 6-core CPU, 7-core GPU, 16-core Neural Engine
The A20 Pro chip uses a 6-core CPU, a 7-core GPU, and a dual 16-core Neural Engine, according to the launch presentation. Apple reports a 20% CPU performance gain and a 40% GPU gain over the A19 Pro, the chip that shipped in the 2025 Pro models.
Those percentages are vendor figures from a controlled comparison. They are not independent benchmark results, and the launch did not specify the workloads, thermal conditions, or whether the numbers refer to peak or sustained performance. Treat them as direction, not as a measured score.
The 16-core Neural Engine handles on-device Apple Intelligence workloads. Apple Intelligence refers to Apple's on-device and server-assisted AI feature set; the launch did not break out per-task Neural Engine throughput, so no token rate or latency figure can be quoted from it.
A larger vapor chamber is the other half of the performance story. Apple says the chamber grew to manage heat in the 6.3-inch body, which is the physical constraint that limits sustained clocks in any compact flagship. Whether that keeps the A20 Pro from throttling during long gaming sessions requires independent thermal testing that does not yet exist.
Variable aperture main camera and the rest of the 48MP setup
The main camera on the iPhone 18 Pro adds a variable aperture that moves between f/1.48, f/1.8, f/2.8, and f/4, letting you control how much light reaches the sensor. Apple's presentation compared the mechanism to the iris blades in a professional camera lens.
The three rear sensors stay at 48MP each: a 48MP main, a 48MP ultra wide, and a 48MP telephoto with 4x periscope zoom. The sensor count and resolution are unchanged from the iPhone 17 Pro, so the aperture is the only hardware difference in the main camera.
A narrower aperture at f/4 reduces incoming light, which in bright conditions can deepen depth of field and let you keep more of a scene sharp without computational tricks. Wider settings at f/1.48 gather more light for low-light shots. Apple has not published a measured dynamic range or noise comparison across those aperture steps.
The front camera is 18MP with Center Stage, and Apple's messaging emphasizes shooting vertical photos and video while the phone stays horizontal. Photographic Styles now include texture and grain controls, and a Cinematic mode can convert footage after capture.
Display, battery and charging numbers
The display is 6.3 inches with ProMotion at 120Hz and up to 3,000 nits peak brightness in HDR, per the launch. Apple says the Dynamic Island is smaller on this model because a component moved behind the screen, which increases the usable area without changing the body size.
Battery figures are quoted as up to 34 hours of video playback and up to 23 hours in mixed-use scenarios. Both are Apple's own estimates, measured under its standard test conditions, and real endurance varies with brightness, network, and workload.
Wired charging reaches up to 50% in 15 minutes, and MagSafe remains supported. The 50% figure is a fast-charge claim tied to Apple's own adapter; the launch did not state the wattage required to hit it.
Durability includes an IP68 rating, Ceramic Shield 2 on the front, and Ceramic Shield on the back. IP68 covers water and dust resistance under lab conditions and is not a warranty against liquid damage.
iOS 27 and Apple Intelligence features on the iPhone 18 Pro
The iPhone 18 Pro ships with iOS 27, and Apple Intelligence runs systemwide rather than inside a single app. Apple's Apple Intelligence page lists the feature set that ships with the OS, and the launch highlighted photo tools specifically.
Three photo editing tools came up in the launch: Clean Up, which removes unwanted objects; Reframe, which changes framing after capture; and Extend, which generates image content beyond the original frame. All three depend on generative models and produce altered images.
Apple has not published accuracy rates for these tools, and generative edits can introduce artifacts. Anyone using them for documentation or journalism should keep the unedited original, since the edits are not reversible from the output alone.
Software support length is another stated advantage. Apple's practice of long update windows applies here, though Apple has not confirmed a specific number of years for the iPhone 18 Pro, so any figure circulating online should be treated as unverified.
iPhone 18 Pro price in India and storage options
The iPhone 18 Pro starts at ₹164,900 for the 256GB model in India, and the 2TB variant costs ₹3,14,900. The 2TB tier is the first time that capacity has been offered on a non-Max Pro model, since 2025 limited 2TB to the Pro Max.
Prices vary by market, and India pricing includes local duties that make it higher than US pricing. Check Apple India for the current configuration list, since storage tiers and regional pricing can change after launch.
There is a real gap between the two ends: ₹150,000 separates the base model from the 2TB version. For most buyers, the decision is between 256GB and the mid tier, and 2TB only makes sense for people shooting ProRes video regularly.
Spec sheet at a glance
The table below collects the launch-day specifications for the iPhone 18 Pro and the iPhone 17 Pro so the changes are visible in one place.
| Specification | iPhone 18 Pro (2026) | iPhone 17 Pro (2025) |
|---|---|---|
| Chip | A20 Pro, 6-core CPU, 7-core GPU | A19 Pro |
| Main camera aperture | Variable, f/1.48 to f/4 | Fixed |
| Rear cameras | 48MP main, 48MP ultra wide, 48MP 4x tele | 48MP triple |
| Display | 6.3in, 120Hz, 3,000 nits HDR | 6.3in, 120Hz |
| Max storage | 2TB | 1TB (2TB Pro Max only) |
| India starting price | ₹164,900 (256GB) | Lower at launch |
A few entries in that table come from a single launch presentation and have not been independently verified. The A20 Pro performance gains and the battery hour estimates are Apple's own figures, measured under Apple's conditions.
FAQ
- What are the iPhone 18 Pro specs? The iPhone 18 Pro has an A20 Pro chip with a 6-core CPU, 7-core GPU and 16-core Neural Engine, a 6.3-inch 120Hz display at up to 3,000 nits, and a 48MP triple rear camera with a variable aperture main lens. It ships with iOS 27 and starts at ₹164,900 for 256GB in India.
- Is the iPhone 18 Pro camera better than the iPhone 17 Pro? The sensor count is unchanged at three 48MP cameras, but the main camera gains a variable aperture between f/1.48 and f/4. That gives more control over depth of field and light intake, though Apple has not published a measured image-quality comparison between the two models.
- How much does the iPhone 18 Pro cost in India? Apple's launch pricing is ₹164,900 for the 256GB model and ₹3,14,900 for the 2TB model. The 2TB option is new for a non-Max Pro, since 2025 reserved that capacity for the Pro Max.
- Does the iPhone 18 Pro have a smaller Dynamic Island? Yes, Apple says the Dynamic Island is smaller because a component moved behind the display. The screen size stays at 6.3 inches, so the change adds display area rather than changing the body.
- What is a variable aperture on a phone camera? A variable aperture uses mechanical blades to change how wide the lens opening is, exactly like the iris in a professional camera. On the iPhone 18 Pro it can sit at f/1.48, f/1.8, f/2.8 or f/4, trading light gathering against depth of field.
- Which color options does the iPhone 18 Pro come in? The launch lineup included silver, black, a light blue Glacier shade, and a burgundy option. Color availability can differ by market and storage tier, so confirm the exact combination on Apple India before ordering.
- How fast does the iPhone 18 Pro charge? Apple claims up to 50% charge in 15 minutes with a compatible fast charger. That figure depends on using the correct adapter and cable, and the launch did not specify the wattage required.
- Does the iPhone 18 Pro support MagSafe? Yes, MagSafe charging and accessories are supported. Apple also sells cases such as the TechWoven case and a MagSafe wallet for this model, alongside third-party options.
- Is 2TB storage worth it on the iPhone 18 Pro? It only makes sense if you record ProRes video or keep large media libraries on-device. The ₹150,000 gap between the 256GB and 2TB models is steep for most buyers, and cloud storage plus an external SSD costs far less.
- Should you upgrade from an iPhone 17 Pro? The changes are an A20 Pro chip, a variable aperture camera and optional 2TB storage. If you shoot a lot of photos in mixed light or want more on-device storage, the upgrade is defensible; otherwise the 2025 model still covers the same use cases.
A note on sourcing this unboxing
The video this article is based on was published by Technical Guruji, a Hindi-language technology channel, on 16 September 2026. Some specifications in that coverage come from the presenter's hands-on time with the phone, while performance, battery and charging figures are Apple's own claims repeated on camera.
One item in the source material deserves a correction: the video credits "Dev Doido do canal do youtube" for background material. That attribution does not correspond to any verifiable channel tied to this launch, so no claim here rests on it.
A related Brazilian technology site, crazystack.com.br, covers similar consumer hardware topics. Its material was not used as evidence for any specification in this article.
Treat every launch-day number as provisional until you check Apple's own specification page for your region. Prices, storage tiers and feature availability are the items most likely to shift in the weeks after a launch.
Turning a launch video into a written spec breakdown
A launch video carries a dense mix of hands-on impressions, vendor performance claims and regional pricing. Pulling those apart into a readable spec breakdown is the hard part, because the spoken numbers and the visual demo often imply different levels of certainty.
If you have that kind of material sitting in a YouTube upload, whether it is a product walkthrough, an interview or a technical explanation, Skala blog turns the video into a structured draft. You paste the URL, it transcribes the audio, and it generates an article you can edit before publishing.
The output is a starting draft, not a finished page. You still decide what counts as a vendor claim, what needs an external source, and what has to be cut.
Fork this article
Start a new branch from the same video, shaped your way. You keep the credit; the original keeps the attribution.
A fork in another language is filed as a translation of this article, so the two pages point at each other. You can unlink it later from the editor.
0/240
You are creating
- Format
- For
- Language
- Source
- Your angle
You will be asked to sign in before it is generated.
Buy credits